If you are not registered or logged in, you may still use these forums but with limited features. Show recent topics
  [Search] Search   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [FAQ]  FAQ 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Antispam measure for Advanced Guestbook  XML
Forum Index » General Discussion
Carbonize
Master
[Avatar]

If you mean rel="nofollow" then it is something to be added to the guestbooks code. If you mean for controlling search engine robots access to your site do a search on google for robot.txt.

Carbonize
I am not the maker of the Advanced Guestbook

get Lazarus
[Email] [WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN] [ICQ]
ET
Graduate

bSeen wrote:I'm new to php, and not too savy about the html anyway so I'm left with the question: would I need to exclude robots by entering that code in every file or just some, maybe the url.php file? Thanx,

If you are trying to keep the Search Engine robots, (i.e. Google, MSN, Yahoo...) out of your guestbook, you would put the Metatag information with the no follow, no index into the header.php at the very top (directly after <html> and <head> tags)

Again, as pointed out repeatedly, this will not keep out spammer bots - it will only help to make your guestbook not show up in the search engine directories.

---------------
Auron
Expert
[Avatar]

ET wrote:
Again, as pointed out repeatedly, this will not keep out spammer bots - it will only help to make your guestbook not show up in the search engine directories.

so that spammers are LESS LIKELY to find your guestbook using a search engine.

Visit my site @ www.ragnaru.com
Adv. Poll Install Guide NOW BACK ONLINE! (And also rather out of date I would of thought)
[Email] [WWW]
ET
Graduate

Auron wrote:
so that spammers are LESS LIKELY to find your guestbook using a search engine.

Yep!

---------------
lloyd_borrett
Beginner
[Avatar]

I think ET might have missed something.