If you are not registered or logged in, you may still use these forums but with limited features. Show recent topics
  [Search] Search   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [FAQ]  FAQ 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Advanced Guestbook Fixes and Mods  XML
Forum Index » Support Forum
amber222
Graduate

*bump*
PandA.nl

Great post amber222, thanks!!!

And what about:
http://www.securityfocus.com/bid/11798/exploit/
(or did you already mention it?)

There's fix/workaround there too.

I added (guestbook/index.php)
after
(2x) and it seems to work

but probably their fix is better (adding $entry = htmlspecialchars ($entry);) since I'm not a programmer

BTW: the exploit seems to work on both 2.2. and 2.3.1
JTD
Graduate

PandA.nl wrote:

BTW: the exploit seems to work on both 2.2. and 2.3.1

The sql exploit ony works on 2.3.1 if you have a very outdated version of php.

LINK-> Use Lazarus Guestbook
[WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN]
Anonymous

JTD wrote:The sql exploit ony works on 2.3.1 if you have a very outdated version of php.
That's not what I read, are you sure we're talking about the same thing?
Carbonize
Master
[Avatar]

the exploit works on Advanced guestbook 2.2 and 2.3, 2.3.1 was released to fix the exploit. It works on some copies of 2.3.1 because the webmasters have replaced the 2.3.1 session.inc.php file with the one from 2.2. It is also alledged that sometimes the addslashes function of older PHP versions fails.

Carbonize
I am not the maker of the Advanced Guestbook

get Lazarus
[Email] [WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN] [ICQ]
PandA.nl

Aha, thanks for the explanation!

I noticed a strange thing though. I'm using version 2.3.1 i.c.w. PHP 4.3.10 on two guestbooks, HTML disabled, but several times visitors managed to enter url's (spamming type url's) into the messages they added.

This shouldn't be possible is it? I assume <a href="... should be disabled as all other html.