If you are not registered or logged in, you may still use these forums but with limited features. Show recent topics
  [Search] Search   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [FAQ]  FAQ 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Export/Import MySQL Database  XML
Forum Index » Support Forum
Anonymous

I have just signed up with a new webhost. A friend installed the guestbook for me and I can quite figure out how to install a new guestbook but I have no idea how to export the database from my old webhost and import it into my new webhost. Never used phpMyAdmin before and I've looked at the phpMyAdmin documentation but it isn't user-friendly enough for me because I'm a total beginner with regards to databases. Can someone give me a simple guide on how to transfer my guestbook from my old webhost to my new webhost? Both of them provide full script support.

Thanks....

p.s.If we live in the same town(Kuala Lumpur), a beer's on me!
amber222
Graduate

If you have PhpMyAdmin, you can try this. Save the old database from the old server to your hard drive as a .sql file. Then use that .sql file (instead of the guestbook.sql file included in the program) to populate a newly created database on the new server.

• 1. On the old server, go into your Admin Panel, then PhpMyAdmin,
    and Export the .sql file of your existing database to your hard drive:

[list:ddce079862] On the left (blue) pane, click in the database box and Select the guestbook's database

When it finishes loading, on the right pane, click on the "Export" tab

When it finishes loading, (somewhere towards the bottom) you will see:

(checkbox) Save as file File name template: (remember template )*

You must check the box for Save as file, then click on the GO button