If you are not registered or logged in, you may still use these forums but with limited features. Show recent topics
  [Search] Search   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [FAQ]  FAQ 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Guestbook hijacked  XML
Forum Index » Support Forum
Anonymous

Hi, I just discovered that the Advanced Guestbook of the site I managed gets redirected to some Turkish website http://www.mavideniz.org/ .- I dont know these mean fellows, or how they accessed the files on my site to enable that process.

The Guestbook script was installed via the CPanel. What can I do to get rid of the malicious script doing the redirection? I am new to PHP, and so I dont know where to look. I just could not locate anything alluding to that site in the index.php of the Guestbook.
Please urgently help, as the website part of a big University website.
ET
Graduate

THis link will take you to a thread where this happened and how to get into the database to remove it.

http://proxy2.de/forum/viewtopic.php?p=14274#14274

---------------
Anonymous

Hi,
Thanks for that response. I had actually just managed to solve the problem.
Below is a comment I just made in another forum where I had also requested for help. The concerned database table, as also suggested in your forum articles was "book_data".

I did actually go back to the database so I could prove to you what I had said, that there was no suspicious entry! This time, though, I opened the concerned database table in PHPmyAdmin, in a different way, so it showed the entries in detail, and the re-directing script was hidden. I deleted and everything is now okay. Actually those bastards had put their script there as a "Comment" to the last visitors entry! For that reason, even the administration page of the Guestbook, where you could delete/edit the entries was not accessible as the same script would redirect me to the hackers page!

Is there anyway to prevent such??
Regards
Carbonize
Master